Rinker receives Fuhrer recognition

Brett Rinker, Slippery Rock, who has completed his freshman year at Bowling Green State University, has been named the recipient of the Frank Fuhrer, III, Award given annually to the area’s outstanding collegiate golfer.

Rinker averaged 73.3 strokes for 31 competitive rounds with five top ten individual finished. He recorder four rounds in the 60’s, and finished the season strong with a 9th place showing in Penn State’s Rutherford Intercollegiate and a 5th place in the Mid-American Conference Championship. He was selected the conference’s Freshman of the Year.

Also under consideration was last year’s recipient, Joshua Stauffer, Bradford, a sophomore at St. Bonaventure, Olean, NY, and Garret Browning, Coraopolis, who will be a junior at Robert Morris University.

Previous winners include Justin Smith, 2002-02, who led Minnesota to the NCAA Division I Championship, Robert Rohanna, an All Big Ten selection while at Penn State, Mike VanSickle, who won twelve tournaments at Marquette, and Rachel Rohanna, an All Big-Ten selection at Ohio State.

The award is named after Frank Fuhrer, III, whose collegiate career at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, included All ACC and All-American honors and membership on the 1981 Walker Cup team.


About wpga

To foster, promote and advance the interests and the true spirit of the game of golf throughout Western Pennsylvania.
This entry was posted in Championship, Regional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.